When are you officially an App Developer?

Are you an App Developer once youā€™ve created an app and submitted it into the App Store? Or are you an App Developer when you get your first paycheck for writing an App for someone? Does it take a degree to become an official App Developer? How many of you are self-taught in App Development like I am?

1 Like

Youā€™re a published app developer if you have an app on the store. Youā€™re a professional app developer if someone pays you money. You donā€™t need any qualifications to do either of those things, but if you havenā€™t got an app on the store and no-oneā€™s yet paid you money to develop an app, then a potential employer may consider your qualifications as part of your job application. But I think being an app developer just means you develop apps, just as being a writer means you write and being a musician means you play an instrument. Thereā€™s no ā€˜officialnessā€™ about it; itā€™s not as though someone can look your name up on a list and say, ā€˜yep, theyā€™re an App Developer, it says so in the registryā€™. Job titles are subjective too; Iā€™ve read articles which offer some kind of heuristic to decide whether youā€™re a junior developer, an intermediate or a seniorā€¦ but ultimately itā€™s all just what you can do to demonstrate your potential to someone who might want to hire you.

Thanks narrativium for your response! I donā€™t think I could say Iā€™m an App developer by your criteria, but I must confess, I love playing around with Core Graphics and Iā€™d love to learn more about bringing animation to an App (basically turn it from a power point presentation to an application that feels more natural).

Are you an App developer? What kind of computer stuff are you into?

Iā€™m now a bit curious about why you think you donā€™t qualifyā€¦ youā€™re writing code. Intending for that code to become part of a paid or published app isnā€™t a requirement.