Using URLSession with PUT and fragments of Content-Range in Swift

I am still learning Swift 4. I’ve successfully managed to call the Microsoft OneDrive API to fetch user information and create basic text files using URLSession.

For files over 4mb, you have to upload them in fragments. What I can’t work out how to do is use URLSession to do this.

https://developer.microsoft.com/en-us/graph/docs/api-reference/v1.0/api/driveitem_createuploadsession

The example request format is:

PUT https://sn3302.up.1drv.com/up/fe6987415ace7X4e1eF866337
Content-Length: 26
Content-Range: bytes 0-25/128

<bytes 0-25 of the file>

I’ve been trying to find examples of this online, but not having much luck.

@jthake Thanks very much for your question!

By sending fragments, do you mean sending a multi-part request? If so, perhaps try this (in this example, I’m uploading an image):

let request  = URLRequest(url: URL(string: "https://myURL.com")!)
request.httpMethod = "PUT"
let boundary = "Boundary-\(UUID().uuidString)"//not sure if this line is necessary
request.setValue("multipart/form-data; boundary=\(boundary)", forHTTPHeaderField: "Content-Type")

Perhaps that will get you started.

I hope this helps.

All the best!

Hi @jthake,
on the link you have posted, it says

Upload bytes to the upload session

To upload the file, or a portion of the file, your app makes a PUT request to the uploadUrl value received in the createUploadSession response. You can upload the entire file, or split the file into multiple byte ranges, as long as the maximum bytes in any given request is less than 60 MiB.

The fragments of the file must be uploaded sequentally in order. Uploading fragments out of order will result in an error.

Note: If your app splits a file into multiple byte ranges, the size of each byte range MUST be a multiple of 320 KiB (327,680 bytes). Using a fragment size that does not divide evenly by 320 KiB will result in errors committing some files.