Networking with URLSession - Part 2: HTTP 101 | Ray Wenderlich

Learn some HTTP basics to make the most of URLSession, and discover the easy way to create URL objects from Strings.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/4321-networking-with-urlsession/lessons/2

Hi Audrey,
I’m relatively new to Swift and have just started the URLSession, but have already hit a bump.
Approximately at 6.26 of the video where you created a db.json file and pasted the example code, when I do the same, Terminal doesn’t allow me to return or do any other functions after. I can’t find any options to make a plain text version anywhere too.
I’ve tried restarting, deleting the file and repeating your instructions with no success. Any help would be appreciated! Thank you!

hi xiatran!

I use vi, but you can open TextEdit, the editor that comes with macOS.

If a new file has a toolbar that lets you set font, font size etc, use the menu to switch it to plain text:

TextEdit>Format>Make Plain Text

I also prefer to make it wrap to window:

TextEdit>Format>Wrap to Window

@xiatran Thanks very much for your question!

A nice text editor that is also free and open source is Atom.

I hope that helps!

All the best!

1 Like

Thank you @Audrey and @syedfa for both your advice!
I managed to make the .json file using TextEdit and it’s running now cheesy grin.

onwards and upwards!

1 Like

Just a small suggestion. Using the parameter “posts” is a little confusing with the HTTP action “POST” esp. for someone looking at the Web Servers for the first time. Just may be changing it to something else might make the concept more clearer and easier to grasp.

Also if you want to use vi or vim (great tools to have in the arsenal as a programmer if you wanna tinker in terminal and not worry about touching that mouse/trackpad :slight_smile: ),