iOS database questions

Hello,

I am fairly new to the iOS development community. At this time I am working my way through the iOS and Swift apprentice books. I also started reading the Core Data by tutorials book, which raised a lot of I think fundamental questions. When browsing this site I find information about storing data. Core Data, CloudKit, SQLite, Realm and there are probably lots more ways to store data. Now although this site is loaded with tutorials on how to work with these data storages I am missing an overview of these types on when to use which type in what kind of situation.
Some work with servers, some seem to be only appropriate for storing local app data, some maybe have options to create a database which can be used by multiple users (by creating login accounts), while others just store data. Or maybe the user login part must be coded aside the data storage?
I hope there is someone who can sum up the different data storage types which are relevant today and tell me in what cases to use that type and maybe just as important what that typ is not suitable for.
I eventually want to create an app which can store and hold information about real estate objects. On one side the app would have some kind of public function to query and browse the data. On the other side the app would have a management tool to add and manipulate the data, this functionality must be shielded by a login account.
Or it can be two apps if that is more conventional.

I hope someone can help me.
Thanks

1 Like

Is there no one who can help me with this?

@hannozandbergen hello, and welcome in the world of develop.