Core Image: From CIImage to Metal and Beyond · Access the Camera with AVFoundation | raywenderlich.com

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/5428948-core-image-from-ciimage-to-metal-and-beyond/lessons/16

hello sam, thanks for the very good explanation of CIIMage
i’m new to ios and started from here with swiftUI, now i wan to implement this in swiftui, how can i get this done with swiftUI, i mean i could achieve it with images, but in case of video, i got stuck, i would appreciate it if you could direct me in the right way.
thanks.

Hi @mostafas

Apologies for the delay in my reply. I’m not an expert in SwiftUI, so I could be wrong, but I don’t think there is “native-SwiftUI” support for videos yet. However, SwiftUI has facility to integrate UIKit views, so you could look at wrapping AVPlayerViewController or an AVPlayerLayer directly.

I expect that that functionality of SwiftUI will improve over future releases, but until then we’ll have to use UIKit directly for some use cases.

Hope that helps

sam

Where exactly Sam did you implement the rosy pink metal filter within the video feed. Really having a hardtime trying to find it

Hi @kekquistador,

I’m not entirely sure what you mean by “rosy pink metal filter”. Is this something referred to in this video? Can you send me a screenshot or a timecode?

Hopefully I’ll be able to point you in the right direction with a little more info.

Thanks

sam

Sorry, lol was accidentally referring to your room color in film. It looked like it was shaded pink and the Apple tutorial for Metalkit involves a pink shader.

Is it possible to do livestreaming with a custom metal based filter?

when I try using your methods I usually get just a white screen

=)

I have never tried live streaming a video that has been through a metal filter, but I think it must be possible. I think you could probably set up your AVFoundation pipeline to include filtering?