Coordinators | Ray Wenderlich Videos

A coordinator design pattern, which makes heavy use of delegates and protocols, allows you to let your UIViewControllers do what they are best at - displaying views! Things like navigation, networking, and in this example, interaction with HealthKit, are all delegated to the coordinator.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/6399-coordinators

Hi Josh
I am a budding iOS developer from India and I have complex modal View Controllers presentation structure in my app. I was trying to implement coordinator pattern tutorial published in Feb 2018 and again today you presented it. The presentation is very good and the promise of coordinator pattern in terms of simplifying navigation and giving freedom to choose which VC to present is very good. My only question is that while implementing the pattern I have huge memory problem and how to solve the memory management issues. Can you please do a screencast on this aspect of coordinator pattern too.

Hi - that’s a pretty complicated question to answer in the forums - are you experiencing memory problems with both the older tutorial and this screencast?

Hi Josh
Concept is same in both, though I have yet to implement the project you’ve mentioned in the screencast and have been working on the older tutorial project only. But the problem remains, everyone in my circle who is an iOS developer as well as while browsing the QA forum in the coordinator pattern tutorial my experience is that people struggle with memory management issue and it grows exponentially if you have more than 10 View Controllers in your app. This is the single biggest reason behind people not implementing coordinator pattern in their projects in spite of its appeal.

What kind of leaks are you experiencing and how have you tried debugging it already?

Hi thaxsillion,