Kodeco Forums

Beginning tvOS Development with TVML Tutorial

Learn how to create your first tvOS app for the Apple TV in this TVML tutorial for complete beginners!

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/1579-beginning-tvos-development-with-tvml-tutorial

I donā€™t think anyone will stop you from doing it, as long as youā€™re not copying and pasting our materials :slight_smile:

Iā€™m glad this tutorial helped. Always happy to hear what readers think!

Cheers,
Kelvin

Can we play an m3u8 file on TVOS ?
I try to play an m3u8 file in a native tvos app but itā€™s not working. I have try to enable https and allow arbitrary loads but nothing work

Anyone can explain it why ??

AppleTV has a strict spec for HLS, see Apple Developer Documentation.

Thanks Kelvin. Your tutorial was a good starting point in our project. May we know how can we get the AppleTV setting on ā€œSubtitle Languageā€ under the ā€œAudio and Videoā€ setting page, Swift/Object-C code is fine?

Can we use either swift or Objective C while using TVML/TVJS?

Yup, both languages work.

Hi,

I am looking for some tvOS SDKs or APIā€™s used for payments like Braintree and Stripe which are being used on iOS. As there is no Apple pay feature on Apple TV/ tvOS, how can payments be processed?

Thanks,

What would be the best approach if I need to make REST API calls to retrieve the content to display? Can I still use TVML type of apps to make REST API calls to retrieve data?

Hi kelvin,

I am beginner to tvOS and following your tutorials on TVOS, all are very helpful.
I am getting following error while running the hello world program which you explained in above article:
ITML : SyntaxError: Unexpected token ā€˜<ā€™ā€¦{
line = 1;
sourceURL = ā€œhttp://localhost:9001/js/application.jsā€;
}

I found following link over the web but this article did not help:
.tvos - tvml syntax error : Unexpected token '<' - Stack Overflow