Absolute beginner to programming

Hey everyone. I recently graduated Mechanical Engineering and have had a ton of issues finding a job. I have also found that the degree drained most of my interest in this field. I took up programming as a hobby but I have become very interested in it, iā€™m actually having fun! Iā€™m just wondering if learning programming on my own can find me work in the future without any sort of computer science degree or certificate? And if so, how does that happen? Maybe some of you have a similar story to share.

Thanks!

1 Like

@markmcgrath Thanks very much for your question!

You are not alone. Many people do a field of study in University/College, only to have a change of heart due to a variety of circumstances. My major is actually in Human Biology, because I had aspirations to pursue medicine as a career. Due to personal circumstances out of my control, this simply was not possible. Now, I happened to be minoring in Computer Science, which is how I got my introduction to computer programming, but even still, I learned Java in school. However, at the time, the Internet was all the rage, and I always was a technophile. Seeing all the new, and interesting things that people could now do using the Internet, it was then did I realize that this was the field I wanted to be in. Fast forward several years later, I was struggling to find work as a Java developer after the financial recession, since the market was saturated with unemployed developers like myself. It was then that friends of mine had advised me that I should consider building for the iPhone (there was no iPad at the time), since people tended to gravitate towards Apple products like the iPod. Eventually, I gave in and realized that there might be an opportunity here since people could no longer demand 5 years of experience from me, since the iPhone had only been out for only two.