Your First Kotlin Android App · Adding a Countdown Timer | raywenderlich.com

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/4936497-your-first-kotlin-android-app/lessons/27

This part of the tutorial was very confusing. You are willing to go through a lot of the code piece by piece for us, which was really a selling point for me. I am not an experienced programmer, and what little experience I do have is more in Python than Java and Kotlin.

But in this part, you fly through the code without speaking and I have to struggle to figure out what you are doing–and more importantly, why you are doing it. I have loved the rest of the tutorial. This video, though, doesn’t seem to match up to the quality of the rest so far.

2 Likes

I completely agree. The pace and explanation of things were excellent up until this point. Not quite sure why he did it this why for this one

@prometheus @benayesu Please let us know what you don’t understand exactly when you get a chance. Thank you!

Like others have mentioned already, I came here to say the same. I very much appreciate all the effort you guys put into this, but in some videos I did feel that he rushes through the code without explaining much.

I also noticed at 01:39, he says “a countdown object named countDownTimer”, I think the correction would be “a countdowntimer object named countDownTimer”. Then at 02:02, “the countdown value …” should be “the initialCountDown value …”.

Again, not being disrespectful, I love this site and all your hard work, just want to help make it better.

I have to agree, this section just jumps to lots of code without a line-by-line dissection. Several things such as onTick and countDownTimer (is this a basic function in the codebase) etc is introduced without being discussed.

@kodekraft @nsoltani Thank you for your feedback - much appreciated! :]