Your First iOS and SwiftUI App · SwiftUI State | raywenderlich.com

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/4919757-your-first-ios-and-swiftui-app/lessons/7

I’m getting a syntax error with the .default method “Reference to member ‘default’ cannot be resolved without contextual type.” I’ve gone over line by line and barring the different strings which shouldn’t affect it everything is the same.

.alert(isPresented: $alertIsVisible) { () →
Alert in
return Alert(title: Text(“Popped up!”), message: Text(“What’s next?”), dismissButton: .default(Text(“All done”)))
}

I’m coming over with a small Java/C++ background running Xcode 11.1 any help would be great thanks!

I had the same issue. Changing:

.color(Color.green)

to

.foregroundColor(.green)

fixed it.

I’m new to Swift and never saw .alert kind of function. Without “self” or any other class/object before it.

Is it explained anywhere?

Also would like to ask why some functions like print doesn’t have that dot before their name. But this requires them?

Hi all! A few responses to the comments here:

@jdbeltran I tried your code and I think the problem is you might be using smart quotes (“ and ”). But in Swift you should always use normal quotes (").

@lgroves317 Yeah, in previous versions of Xcode it used .color rather than .foregroundColor. However the video shows using .foregroundColor so I think we’re OK.

@711copymachine Good question! This can be a bit confusing when you’re first starting, but here’s what’s going on:

• Whenever you see a dot before a method (like .alert), that means you’re calling a method on an object.
  • Swift allows you to put newlines between the object you’re calling a method on, and the name of the method, to make things easier to read.
  • So in this case, the object you’re calling the .alert method on is the Button object itself.