Your First iOS and SwiftUI App | raywenderlich.com

If you're a complete beginner to iOS and SwiftUI development and wondering how to get started, this is the course for you.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/4919757-your-first-ios-and-swiftui-app
1 Like

Hi Ray! Are there another (e-mail, text) versions of this and another courses?

Hi Joe - if you want this course in text form, check out our book the iOS Apprentice. The early access version of the 8th edition, which includes the content from this course in text form, is out today! :]

1 Like

Hi Ray!

Iā€™ve done lessons 1-46, so Iā€™ve got a working app but for some reason on my phone (iPhone SE) the buttons arenā€™t displayed correctly like in the simulator. They have the right shape but theyā€™re the ā€˜midnightBlueā€™ colour. Iā€™ve checked if thatā€™s also the case with your app to check if it was my mistake but itā€™s also a problem with your app. Everything else but that is fine. Have you got an idea why itā€™s happening and how to fix it? Iā€™ve got all the updates on both my mac and iPhone. Stackoverflow didnā€™t really help.

Thanks in advance!

Edit: found a solution on this website:

https://www.hackingwithswift.com/quick-start/swiftui/how-to-disable-the-overlay-color-for-images-inside-button-and-navigationlink

Just need to add this line:

.buttonStyle(PlainButtonStyle())

to the Button

@kammahha Thank you for sharing your solution - much appreciated! :]

I ran the Bullseye project on the simulator and noticed that the Info button only works the first time you press it. Afterwards it does nothing. I checked it on my phone and it works as expected so the problem is with the simulator.
I tried this on another I am writing and ran into the same problem.
Do you know if there is a way to get the simulator to work correctly?
Thanks!

@dianehoff Do you still have issues with this?

Hi,