With Vapor Cloud shutting down, when will the book be updated?

I am starting to get through the book. However I recently learnt that Vapor Cloud is shutting down. Is the team working on updating the book to remove references to Vapor Cloud and replace it with some of the other options like maybe AWS or Heroku?

I am completely new to server-side and also to databases. So it would be a huge help if I don’t have to learn something obsolete and then relearn things again.

Hi! Yep we’re putting out an update that removes the Vapor Cloud section. The latest release (that you can currently download) has chapters on Heroku, AWS and Docker which should give you what you need!

Of the core 17 chapters of the book (Chapters 5-21), 12 of them end with instructions on how to deploy them in Vapor Cloud. From what I understand, we can learn about Heroku/AWS/Docker from the relevant chapters at the end only (Ch 32-34).

I am requesting the team to replace the current Vapor Cloud hand-holding in the above mentioned (5-21) chapters with one of the 3 other services.

Most of us who purchased this book, I presume, are beginners or have very little experience with server-side programming and setting up these 3 services. Without the hand-holding, it would be very difficult for us to derive the relevant steps for Heroku/AWS/Docker from their dedicated chapters at the end. We would be very likely to get stuck repeatedly without explicit instructions, rendering the purchase of this book of little value.

I understand that this is not a trivial task, but I ask you to consider this: 2-3 experienced people (who happen to have MADE the product!!!) working hard once, or thousands of complete novice readers, grappling in the dark, trying to find their way.

@gitap the current release of the book that you can download right now (the second edition) only has one chapter that mentions Vapor Cloud. Chapters 5-21 no longer contain instructions on deploying to Vapor Cloud. Which version do you have?