Why using a StatefulWidget to implement the first challenge solution in Chapter 5?

Is there any reason to use a StatefullWidget to implement the solution for the first challenge in Chapter 5?

I have simply used a local variable for ScrollController in the build() method of the ExploreScreen StatelessWidget and it worked perfectly, but as I’m new to Flutter I’m not sure of the tradeoffs of this solution compared to the book solution.

Could anyone give an explanation, please?

this is how my solution look:

class ExploreScreen extends StatelessWidget {

final fooderlichService = MockFooderlichService();

ExploreScreen({Key? key}) : super(key: key);

@override

Widget build(BuildContext context) {
    final scrollController = ScrollController();
    scrollController.addListener(() {
      final minPos = scrollController.position.minScrollExtent;
      final maxPos = scrollController.position.maxScrollExtent;
      if (scrollController.offset == minPos) {
        print("I'm at the top");
      }
      if (scrollController.offset == maxPos) {
        print("I'm at the bottom");
      }
    });

return FutureBuilder(
      future: fooderlichService.getExploreData(),
      builder: (context, AsyncSnapshot<ExploreData> snapshot) {
        if (snapshot.connectionState == ConnectionState.done) {
          final recipes = snapshot.data?.todayRecipes ?? [];
          final posts = snapshot.data?.friendPosts ?? [];
          return ListView(
            controller: scrollController,
            children: [
              TodayRecipeListView(recipes: recipes),
              FriendPostListView(posts: posts),
            ],
          );
        } else {
          return const Center(
            child: CircularProgressIndicator(),
          );
        }
      },
    );
  }
}
1 Like

@alilosoft if you do this make sure you dispose your scrollController.