Where to start with MacOS and Swift?

Hi,

I want to start developing MacOS apps in Swift (as a side project). I’ve never touched Mac or iOS development before. I have 10 years of Ruby and Javascript experience, so deff a senior software engineer. I was wondering where you would recommend I start for MacOS in Switft development, should I learn Swift iOS first and then switch to MacOS, or do you have a starting with MacOS development course.

Thanks!

1 Like

Hi @smickie and welcome to the RW Forums!

I would start right here: macOS Development for Beginners. It’s a 3 part tutorial.

iOS and macOS development share a lot of similarities, you can start with one and migrate to the other, the main difference is their GUI libraries (UIKit vs NS), as you can imagine some interaction concepts vary between mobile and desktop platforms.

Edit: I’m still working with JavaScript/Node and love it! You will find lots of similarities with Swift, and some stuff gets a bit confusing at first. But given your experience, I’m sure you will have a smooth transition.

I’m a macOS developer, and I’d say try to find macOS resources whenever you can (there’s a number of tutorials on this site; hackingwithSwift has a useful book/course combo, my own extelligentcocoa.org is focused on macOS because that’s what I’m interested in.)
Most - almost all - resources you will find are iOS based. This has two problems for macOS developers:

• UIKit tends to have nifty features we just don’t get. Unwind segues, UITableView (NSTableView is much clunkier), handling drawing contexts… iOS developers make use of features we just don’t get, and it’s tedious when every tutorial teaches you a clean and simple way that… just is not available to you.