Kodeco Forums

What’s New in Swift 3.1?

Great news: Xcode 8.3 and Swift 3.1 is now out of beta! This article, highlights the most significant changes in Swift 3.1.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/695-what-s-new-in-swift-3-1
1 Like

Hi shogunkaramazov,thanks for your sharing.

I’m a iOS developer from China, after reading your introduce of new features about Swift3.1, I partially understood something but not all.

Hope you will post more articles about it and thanks again.

Thanks for sharing this.

Glad you like it, what don’t you understand exactly?

Glad you like it! :]

thanks for your great tutorial!

Really glad you all like it! :]

Very glad you like it! :]

Thanks for the summary!

In a sidebar you wrote:

“Note: An alternative design used throwing initializers instead of failable ones. The community chose failable ones to be a better, more ergonomic design.”

Where can I find discussion on that? If you create a failable initializer, it appears you need to individually test each element parsed from the JSON, and then either return nil from the constructor, or copy all the local values into the struct members. In the short example, that’s not particularly onerous, but if one must handle a long and/or complex data response, the length of the constructor will more or less double.

Glad you like it. You can read more about this specific design choice over here: swift-evolution/0080-failable-numeric-initializers.md at main · apple/swift-evolution · GitHub.

I write a little sample code to test the prefix and drop in your article.
let array = [1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9]
let filter = array.prefix(while: {$0 < 8}).drop(while: {$0 < 3})
I want use prefix and drop in chain just like your sample, but I got “Ambiguous use of prefix”.
If I use them in separate lines, it works fine.
let filter = array.prefix(while: {$0 < 8})
let filter2 = filter.drop(while: {$0 < 3})
So, why?