The right book to start learning iOS development with swift? iOS Apprentice vs. Swift Apprentice or a combination with online tutorials?

Hey guys,

thanks for creating this amazing resource of absolutely stunning tutorials!

I am an absolute beginner in developing and programming. I have experience in HTML, CSS as well as small experience in JavaScript and PHP. Therefore I have a general understanding of OOP but definitely nothing in depth.

I am most interested in learning Swift and especially developing for iOS / the iOS-Frameworks and not sure how to start best. I have already seen a lot of (good) video tutorials on Udemy and read some books about Swift and iOS-Frameworks / iOS programming but at some point I always got stuck because it was explained too fast or not enough in depth to understand the topic - I have always had the feeling that most tutorials are more for intermediate programmers with some experience in other programing language.

Now I really want to try your tutorials because I think you are one of the most reliable and best resources for iOS programming. Fortunately I have already bought the iOS Apprentice and I’m very satisfied with this book, nonetheless I get stuck from time to time (for example in chapter 2 where you explain the table view fundamentals - I always have the feeling that I don’t unterstand the whole part and it’s for sure a problem of my way of learning). Now I consider if it probably is a good way starting with the Swift Apprentice instead of the iOS Apprentice or may I go with the online video subscription alongside with the book (so that I work parallel with the iOS Apprentice and the online tutorials).

As you can see I am not sure what the best way is in my case and I would like to ask you as you are the pro, maybe you have a suggestion how to start learning?! :slight_smile: