Switching from full stack web to native iOS.

Iā€™ve been a full stack web developer for 3 years now. But I realized I really enjoy iOS development. I enjoy OO programing and strict languages. Is native development still a good career to get into? All I hear now is Progressive web apps and React Native! How do people switch tech stacks without starting over? I really want to become an iOS engineer but Iā€™m afraid no one will look at me since I have zero pro iOS experience.

Thanks!

1 Like

@cbrandalise Thanks very much for your question!

Youā€™ve asked a very important question that many developers face, so youā€™re not alone :slight_smile:

First off, congratulations on being a full stack web developer! You deserve credit for being established in your field already. This is not easy for many. If you can achieve success in one field, it certainly is possible for you to achieve it again!

The fact that youā€™re trying to go into iOS development should not be viewed by you as something ā€œdifferentā€. Rather, look at it as something that is supplementing your already well established skills. There is tremendous overlap with iOS development and web development. iOS developers work with REST APIā€™s on a constant basis, and knowledge of web development will be a huge benefit in terms of designing UIā€™s for the iPhone/iPad screens, as well as the architecture of apps.