Kodeco Forums

SpriteKit Swift 3 Tutorial for Beginners

Learn how to make your first iOS game in this SpriteKit Swift 3 tutorial for complete beginners - and yes, there are ninjas!

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/913-spritekit-swift-3-tutorial-for-beginners

@rwenderlich since you’re a pioneer of Cocos2D (I watched a bit of the podcast when you called SpriteKit crap compared to cocos2d :smiley: ), why don’t you start making tutorials (or even a book) on cocos2d-x (C++)? It brings the power of cocos2d made cross platform. It has a lot of UI controls made like buttons or equivalent of tableviews to show some good UI in games.
Even if the projects aren’t created in Xcode anymore, but command line, they can still be opened and compiled/debugged in Xcode
 cocos2dx doesn’t get much docs cover around the web (despide it was chosen by a lot of prevalent 2d games included an angry birds and Geometry Dash).

A book from you would get the monopoly in terms of possible quality
 Why not think on it? This site covers also Android (Unity team is of 10 people, Android’s one 16 and Apple Game Framework just 12
 and still no Android book). With a book about cocos2dx there would be cover for games in Android’s too besides the Unity one (which as you mentioned isn’t free software nor as free beer nor as free speech). cocos2dx is completely free
 And it should not be hard too much for your teams convert existing games from SpriteKit in it or newer games. What do you think?

I’ve seen that there are like 2 tutorials in the Archive
 but why not something new?