Kodeco Forums

Server Side Swift with Vapor – First 16 Chapters Now Available!

The first early access release of our Server Side Swift with Vapor book is now available!

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/5230-server-side-swift-with-vapor-first-16-chapters-now-available

Enjoying the book. Well done.

Ran into a small bump in Chapter 6: Configuring a Database when attempting to connect to a MySQL database running in a Docker container on my host machine. (Caveat: I’m no expert on MySQL, or anything else for that matter…)

Apparently, the more recent versions of MySQL use a default authentication plugin of caching_sha2_password, which the Vapor code in MySQLConnection+Authenticate.swift does not like. The only allowed authentication option in the Vapor code is mysql_native_password.

So, to make Vapor work with MySQL running in a Docker container just add a command-line option when you create the container. Add --default-authentication-plugin=mysql_native_password to the end of the Docker command that creates the container. As in:

docker run --name mysql -e MYSQL_USER=vapor -e MYSQL_PASSWORD=password -e MYSQL_DATABASE=vapor -p 3306:3306 -d mysql/mysql-server --default-authentication-plugin=mysql_native_password

I should probably add that this is with Vapor MySQL version 3.0.0-rc2.2. And the MySQL documentation for default-authentication-plugin.

@gazingatnavel good spot. I’ve raised an issue on GH for this. You can also specify an older version of MySQL as well if you want:

docker run --name mysql -e MYSQL_USER=vapor -e MYSQL_PASSWORD=password -e MYSQL_DATABASE=vapor -p 3306:3306 -d mysql/mysql-server:5.7

@0xtim excellent point! I looked for something like that at the MySQL Docker repository, but for some reason it didn’t click with me. Looking at it again, there it is, staring me right in the face. Doh!

Thanks for raising the issue with the Vapor folks on GitHub.