Kodeco Forums

Screencast: Beginning C# Part 0: Introduction

Learn the basics of writing C# for Unity in this new FREE screencast series.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/3247-beginning-c/lessons/1

I’m totally new to Unity. My question is
Is there any advantage of using C# for scripting over Javascript? Any thoughts on comparison of these two would be helpful to choose the language.
Some people may already know Javascript and it should be easier for them to learn Javascript for Unity.

Hi Vakas,

Not too long ago, Unity took a poll of the userbase to determine how many people were using the various languages. C# rated near 80%, Javascript landed just under 20%, and Boo was less than 1%. In short, the community primarily uses C# which means you’ll find the most amount of support, examples, and if you ever want to do any professional Unity work, you’ll be doing it in C#.

The thing also to consider is that Javascript in Unity isn’t true Javascript. Javascript by definition is a prototype based language whereas Unity is class based one. That one small change has tremendous implications on how you use the language. Also, everything you learn in Unity’s Javascript can’t really be applied outside of Unity which is why we recommend people start with C#.

It’s a bit harder, but hopefully, with this series, you’ll pick it up in no time. I hope that helps!

1 Like

Hi Brian,
I had the same question as Vakas. Thanks for your answer. I have learned swift over the last 6 months but will now dive into C#.
Cheers,
Frank

Hi Brian,

Thanks a lot for your awesome Introduction video. I am too much interested about learning Unity API. But Unfortunately I cant found any strong course on the internet. have you any Suggestion for me?

Thank you for this an awesome tutorial series. I had learned a lot of valuable things!

Thank you very much for this tutorial series. I have just started and am learning a lot.

Hi Brian,