Questions from Chapter 1,2

Hello am new. I recently purchased paperback Kotlin Apprentice and I have few doubts. I’m a beginner who knows little java. So please be patient if my questions are stupid.

1. I tried running kotlin through command line. Why does a kotlin need to be compiled to a jar. If it’s running on jvm, is it not supposed to create .class? (I compile it without including jar, I saw two .class files which gave “main missing” error after trying to run .class files even though there is main function).

2. What’s wrong with below? I’m getting main method missing error when I run the code.
    class sample {
    fun main(){
    println(“Its a sample”)
    }
    }

3. In java we have “;” that says statement end and compile knows its end of statement. How does compiler know its end of statement in kotlin?

4. I saw you mentioned in book that kotlin runs on jvm as well as it can be run without jvm(i.e kt source code directly converted to machine code without bytecode). If so, why do I see only generated .class files or .jar? where is machine code file? Please explain me if I got my fundamentals wrong.

5. In the Type Conversion section, for ex: var num:Double = 10.9
    num.toInt() value is 10. Why is this always rounded off to number before decimal?

6. There is example on page 71 (chapter3 Operator with mixed types).
    val a:Double = 19.5
    val b:Int = 10
    val c:Double = a*b.toDouble()
    you mentioned kotlin automatically converts b to double “It turns out this is unnecessary” - why unnecessary? What conditions are being looked at to make it needed some cases but not needed in some cases?

I dont have enough targeted chapter problems to practice. Please provide source for more problems to solve which are chapters targeted.

help @designatednerd ?

Hi Roberto! So I didn’t work on these chapters so I can’t answer all your questions, but I’ll give a shot to what I can: