Kodeco Forums

NSURLSession Tutorial: Getting Started

In this NSURLSession tutorial, you'll learn how to create HTTP requests, as well as implement background downloads that can be both paused and resumed.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at http://www.raywenderlich.com/110458/nsurlsession-tutorial-getting-started

Hi, Ken,
Thanks for your tutorial! Itā€™s very informative and I learned a lot.
I have a question for the NSURL though: how do we access each specific files in our local directory with NSURL class?
say if I want to build a tableview that can display all the downloaded contents, with also the functionality of deleting files, what should I do to get access to each files?
Thank you!

ā€“Fred

Hi Ken,

I am an iOS newbie, and trying to teach on my own.
This is the most helpful NSURLSession tutorial I have discovered.
It answered most questions I have about doing multiple concurrent web service calls.

I have a few follow-up questions.

1. Why did you choose to make the defaultSession (the NSURLSession object) a member variable of the SearchViewController class instead of initializing it only in the viewDidLoad() function?
  2. I want to understand the lifecycle of an iOS ViewController.
    a. If I have a ViewController that calls a web service (e.g., retrieving weather info from OpenWeather API) inside viewDidLoad(), do I need to do that all the time?
    b. How do I cache results and avoid calling the web service unnecessarily? In other words, how do I only make web service calls to retrieve new data only every 15 minutes or some arbitrary time limit?

It doesnā€™t need to be a full-detailed answer.
I can read up on my own if you can point me what topics to read up on.

Thanks for a great tutorial!
Soe

NSFileManager provides all the functionalities you need to open an applicationā€™s sandboxed directory path, enumerate the contents at that path, and manipulate the individual contents.