Kodeco Forums

How To Use Git Source Control with Xcode 8

In this tutorial, you'll learn how to use git source control with Xcode 8; whether committing or reverting, branching or merging, this tutorial has you covered.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/675-how-to-use-git-source-control-with-xcode-9

Richard, great introduction to a tool that, for a self-taught iOS developer, is something of a mystery. One question, which had me worried at the time: when you are finally ready to publish your app, does the publishing / archiving process always take the code that’s in the master branch? Can you publish from a separate branch?

Hi Alan,

Thanks for the kind words. Xcode, when building or archiving your project, isn’t actually looking at your Git repo. It works on the working copy of your project that you have checked out. So, if you’re on a branch other than master, then yes, it will build/archive/publish/distribute that branch. You have complete control. It will never access another branch, even if that other branch is master, without your telling it to do so.

Hope that helps!

Hey Richard. Great tutorial! I see a lot of developers using Git from the terminal to commit, checkout branches and merging. On this site there is a great tutorial in using Git from the command line as well.

Now the question: Is there a specific reason to use the Xcode Git features other than not feeling comfortable with the terminal? Are there important limitations to using Git in Xcode versus from the command line that you know?

Best regards, Martijn

This is great! My issue with Git and Xcode development has always been storyboards… do you have any best practices around merging storyboards? The issue is they’re text-based so git will do diff checks and can merge them, but when you have merge conflicts I have never found an easy way to merge them… any tips?

You say the following: