Getting Started with Core NFC | raywenderlich.com

In this tutorial, you’ll learn how to use CoreNFC to connect wirelessly to other devices or NFC tags.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/9582458-getting-started-with-core-nfc
1 Like

This for sure is the most comprehensive tutorial on the internet for reading and writing NFC tags so thank you. I have just a couple of questions, I just started learning swift as my first coding language just a month ago so forgive me for any naivety.

1. I’m looking to assign different objects of the same class to different tags to be read by a user. This class contains different data types such as strings, Ints, and Images. Which payload type would this fall under?

2. Im trying to write these tags without giving users the option to write, only read and perform an action once read. How would you go about this?

Hey @mjheitz, I’m glad you liked it! You shouldn’t have to worry about sounding naive here, even if you were a seasoned Swift developer - we’re all always learning together.

I’ll do my best to answer your questions:

1. You should be able to mimic the same thing going on in the tutorial for this. I used Location as a very simple model to write to the devices, but you can replace the references to this with your own Codable type (the protocol your type conforms to to make encoding/decoding easier). It still needs to be saved to the tag using NFCNDEFPayload. When you read the tag, you’ll just attempt to decode the records. Note that an NFC tag can save multiple records in the payload, and this tutorial assumed you would only ever have one value in the payload array.