General question about learning ios development

Hi,

my name is Dongwoo and I just started learning Swift and iOS development about two months ago. I read and practiced a swift book as much as i could and did a little bit of Udemy ios bootcamp but the way i did was mostly following instructor’s code but when i tried to build my own without looking at any tutorial codes, i just could not…i can use certain part and put those codes together to make things work to certain level but it gets lost at eventually…so i tried to understand each line of codes that instructors writes on videos courses and it was taking me forever to go through the course…so my question here is that what is the best way or better way to get to the level where you can make your own from scratch without having to need too much of tutorials?

I appreciate your help!

Dongwoo

In one word: tinkering.

Rather that start a new program from scratch, spend some time making changes to one of the tutorial programs you built. Since you start with a working program, you can make one change or addition, then immediately run it and see if it works. When it doesn’t, you can go back and focus on just the change you made, since you know all the rest of it is working. I think it makes learning how to use all the tools and resources that are available much easier, so you can get lots of practice at creating programs and making your code work.

1 Like

@bdu157 Thanks very much for your question!

Your situation is not new, and many people like yourself are trying to figure out how to get started. Here is what I would suggest you do to get started: