Kodeco Forums

Full-Time Indie iOS Dev and Co-Founder of 1Button: A Top Dev Interview With Thomas Castel

Check out our top app dev interview with Thomas Castel, a successful indie iOS app developer who has created 14 apps featured on the App Store.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/608-full-time-indie-ios-dev-and-co-founder-of-1button-a-top-dev-interview-with-thomas-castel

“As software engineers, we knew how to develop apps, but we quickly understood that we were completely unable to sell them. So we focused on improving ourselves in this area…”

I would love to hear more about what this looked like. As a long-time developer with 2+ decades of experience, app creation is not that hard. But actually selling it? And with a “zero-dollar marketing budget” to boot? I want to hear more.

I really need some help and some advice. I have been an indie apple developer for the last six years. To start off I took a personal loan and bought a MacBook and paid 99 dollars for an apple developer account. I made several free and paid apps on apple’s app store. I also marketed myself as an apple developer. I made several apps for people as well. All those clients stiffed me financially when the app was built and published. Now I am at a lost. My Macbook broke (Cracked screen, bad motherboard, etc) and unusable. My apple developer account had to be renewed two weeks ago. I had no money to renew the account so I had to let it expire.