Group Group Group Group Group Group Group Group Group

Errata for iOS Apprentice v4.1

This topic is for bugs, typos, and other mistakes in iOS Apprentice v4.1.

1 Like
pinned #2

Archived errata threads:

Thanks for the great tutorials.

In the MyLocations tutorial on the last page (p.292) the Core Data Programming Guide by Apple is linked. The URL has changed to:
https://developer.apple.com/library/ios/documentation/Cocoa/Conceptual/CoreData/index.html

Also the code samples in the guide are now both in Objective-C and Swift. :slight_smile:

Thanks for the head’s up, @linc.

Tutorial 4 “Store Search”, page 125.

Not an error, but rather a change in Xcode (I’m using 7.3.1):

The key in info.plist is now called “App Transport Security Settings”.
And the key in the dictionary is now called “Allow Arbitrary Loads”.

This message was sent to us via our customer support desk:

Subject: Code correction

Hi, I’m new in iOS programming, and The iOS Apprentice is a great tutorial for beginners.
But I found a code issue in Checklist Cheaper, page 140 Loading file Part
If the Checklist.plist is exist and not empty, the code always stuck at

checked = aDecoder.decodeBoolForKey(“Checked”)

So I have change the code to

checked = aDecoder.decodeObjectForKey(“Checked”) as! Bool

Only change the code like this, the app can run functional.
My Xcode version is 7.3.1(7D1014), hope my advice will help other beginner solve their same problem.
Thanks

1 Like

tableView(_:indentationLevelForRowAtIndexPath:) in Section 11, iOS Apprentice 2, Checklists, no longer works as ‘var’ parameters have been deprecated. Is there a fix?

You can write var indexPath = indexPath at the top of the method. This makes a new local variable with the same value as the parameter.

Comment submitted by Morgan via our support desk: