Demystifying Views in iOS · Controlling Parent Views | raywenderlich.com

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.raywenderlich.com/4518-demystifying-views-in-ios/lessons/12

The example is far too complex. You may as well call it “Mystifying Views”. I’m an experienced iOS dev and could barely keep up. I can only imagine how intimidating this would be for new learners.

You need simpler more focused examples - start with 1 parent and 1 child and the relationship between them first.

@gsharm1 Thank you for your feedback - much appreciated! Could you please let us know what didn’t you understand exactly?

@gsharm1 Thanks very much for your suggestion. I wanted to make a few points here:

1. In fairness, the course is marked “Intermediate”, and thus, is not intended for novices.

2. Because the video tutorials are accessible via a paid subscription, users who have access to the content have higher expectations on the quality we provide, and tend to expect more than just a rudimentary explanation.

3. Because they are in video, one also has the luxury of having access to both the visual demonstration of what is being done, as well as the corresponding audio. So while the video is playing, one also has the means to listen to the audio to gain a better understanding of what is going on. So while the content may be a bit more complex, you do have additional means to help you understand.

4. You do have the ability to replay the videos multiple times to review any concepts that you may have found difficult.

5. The purposes of the forums here are intended for precisely just that: A means to get your questions answered for topics that were discussed in the video course (or book, or article), which is still causing you confusion :slight_smile:

I hope this helps!

All the best!