Books, iOS Apprentice V6, BullsEye, Accessibility and clarification of step

I am a totally blind software engineer with many years of experience in coding and a couple of published book sections and articles to my credit.
I have taken an iOS course so I’m not completely new to iOS.

I am having a struggle with the Getting Started project. I don’t know if there is something that has changed with Xcode 9.3 and later or it is an accessibility issue.

My starting project storyboard outline doesn’t look like the one in the book. I have followed all the steps as outlined in the book. Is this a significant issue?

After placing the first button in the storyboard, this was done with great difficulty probably relating to an accessibility issue, I find that I can’t change the location of the button from the inspector or even have someone sighted move it where I want it. The items in the inspector are dimmed. Is there something I’ve missed here?

If Apple wasn’t so excited about the storyboard thing I’d abandon it in a New York second. :slight_smile:
Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. Also, I’d be happy to share any guidance or help I can to make this book easier to use by a blind software developer.

Hi James, my apologies, I had not considered a totally blind person doing the tutorials and so had not taken accessibility into consideration. However, since you start the first project (and each of the subsequent ones too) from scratch, I am not sure that there’s much in the way of accessibility that I could have added to make your life easier. If there is something I have missed, please do let me know and I’ll add the necessary changes in the next release.

With regards to the specific issue you’re running into, I am not sure what is happening to dim the relevant sections of the inspector. Only things I can think of are:

1. The button (or any other relevant item) is not selected.