Best solution for storing data for a budget app

Hi,
1st a little background on me. I’m currently retired but I’ve been programming professionally since 1980. Since 2000 I’ve been writing the “model” side of the house (with some web experience) in Java using Oracle RDBMs and IBM MQSeries for a Fortune 10 health insurance company. I understand programming, just not the paradigm of mobile and iOS. Last year I took the Code With Chris series on programming apps and feel I’ve learned enough to write my own application.

I want to write my own personal budge app that would have budgets by the month with income and expense and spent data showing the amount of budget not spent or over spent. I’d store this data locally with an idea that it might be in the cloud later to sync across devices.

What I am unsure of at this point is what would be the best data store to use. In Code With Chris we looked at lightweight JSON, but I suspect there are other alternatives. I’m trying not to go “industrial” strength and over kill or complicate the coding, but don’t want to be sorry I went with something like JSON when there might be a better alternative. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Bob

Hi Bob. I think the point at which you become sorry you used JSON might be 1) when you start to notice loading times if you are sucking in a whole lot of JSON on startup, and 2) if you start to need to use relationships. Obviously that’s something you understand given your experience but whether it matters depends on how you want to manage and present the data.